CGU Young Scientist Award

The CGU Young Scientist Award recognizes outstanding research contributions by a young scientist who is a CGU member. Both the quality and impact of research are considered. The award is made by the CGU Executive on the recommendations of a special committee struck for this purpose.

See here for the full terms of reference.

Nominations should be submitted to the Chair of the Awards Committee (email: by December 12 of the year prior to the Annual Scientific Meeting.

Please note that for 2024 awards, nomination packages will be accepted until January 8, 2024. Any other changes to the typical application or nomination procedures will be communicated by email to registered CGU members.

Past Recipients of the Young Scientist Award

2024Barret KurylykDalhousie University
2023No recipient
2022No recipient
2021Asim BiswasUniversity of Guelph
2020No recipient
2019Saman RazaviUniversity of Saskatchewan
2018Pascal AudetUniversity of Ottawa
2017Yajing LiuMcGill University
Carl MitchellUniversity of Toronto
2016Scott JasechkoUniversity of Calgary
2015Jeffrey McKenzieMcGill University
2014Geneviève AliUniversity of Manitoba
2013Mathieu DumberryUniversity of Alberta
Brett EatonUniversity of British Columbia
2012Brian MenounosUniversity of Northern British Columbia
2011Michael RiedelGeological Survey of Canada - Pacific Geoscience Centre
2010Sean CareyCarleton University
2009Gwenn FlowersSimon Fraser University
Stephane MazzottiGeological Survey of Canada - Pacific Geoscience Centre
2008Brian BranfireunUniversity of Toronto Mississauga
Scott LamoureuxQueen's University
2007No recipient
2006No recipient
2005Shawn MarshallUniversity of Calgary
J. Michael WaddingtonMcMaster University