Don Gray Scholarship

D.M. (Don) Gray (1929-2005) is known as the ‘father of Canadian hydrology,’ who chaired the Division of Hydrology at the University of Saskatchewan from 1965 to 2001. He mentored over 68 graduate students and produced over 132 publications – particularly the 1973 Handbook on the Principles of Hydrology and the 1980 Handbook of Snow: Principles, Processes, Management, and Use. Don was instrumental in forming the CGU Hydrology Section in 1993.

The Don Gray Scholarship in Canadian Hydrology is a $2,500 scholarship made possible by a donation from the Gray family, and is awarded at the annual meeting of the Canadian Geophysical Union.

All doctoral candidates studying in the broad field of hydrology are eligible. Applicants must be registered in a full-time, thesis-based doctoral program, and be within their first 24 months of study at the time of application. The applicant must be undertaking their degree at a Canadian University, but field research (if applicable) may be undertaken anywhere in the world.

For CGU student members interested in being considered for the 2024 Don Gray Scholarship, application packages (including reference letters) will be accepted until February 29th, 2024. Any other changes to the typical application procedure will be communicated by email to registered CGU members.

For more details on the Don Gray Scholarship as well as the application process, please follow the link below:

Don Gray Scholarship

Past Scholarship Recipients

2024Carissa MacKenzieUniversity of Waterloo
2023Elise LegarthUniversity of British Columbia
2022Nichole StollUniversity of Saskatchewan
2021Julia CantelonDalhousie University
2020Sarah ArianoRyerson University
2019Kelly HokansonUniversity of Alberta
2018Élise DevoieUniversity of Waterloo
2017Matthew Morison University of Waterloo
2016Igor PavlovskiiUniversity of Calgary
2015Michael LathuillièreUniversity of British Columbia
2014Colin McCarterUniversity of Waterloo
2013Scott KetchesonUniversity of Waterloo
2012Not awarded
2011Jason LeachUniversity of British Columbia
2010Kegan FarrickWestern University