Hydrology: Students

To post hydrology-oriented student events and activities, and graduate or post-doctoral opportunities, please contact the HS Secretary

Hydrology Student Awards


D.M. Gray Scholarship in Hydrology

Click on the following link for information on this award, eligibility and the application process.


The Hydrology Section also sponsors two awards for student papers in hydrology presented at the Annual Meeting.

D.M. Gray Award for Best Student Paper in Hydrology. Click here to download a PDF with information on eligibility and the application process.

Campbell Scientific Award for Best Student Poster in Hydrology. Click here to download a PDF with information on eligibility and the application process.

SUBMISSION DEADLINE for both awards is April 1st of any given year.

Note: Students may apply for both the D.M. Gray Best Student Paper Award and the Campbell Scientific Best Poster Award, but will not be eligible to win both awards in the same year.

Click here to upload your submission by the due date.



D.M. Gray Award for Best Student Paper in Hydrology

2022Bhaswati MazumderToronto Metropolitan University
2021Sarah ArianoToronto Metropolitan University
2020Kelley BiagiMcMaster University
2019Kelly HokansonUniversity of Alberta
2018Kokulan VivekanathanUniversity of Waterloo
2017Lauren SomersMcGill University
2016Ryan ConnonWilfried Laurier University
2015Colin McCarterUniversity of Waterloo
2014Kegan FarrickWestern University
2013Philip HarderUniversity of Saskatchewan
2012Nicholas KinarUniversity of Saskatchewan
2011Chris MarshUniversity of Saskatchewan
2010Katie BurlesUniversity of Lethbridge
2009Claire OswaldUniversity of Toronto Mississauga
2008Gro LilbækUniversity of Saskatchewan


Campbell Scientific Award for Best Student Poster in Hydrology

2022Not awardedNot awarded
2021Not awardedNot awarded
2020Jason KarisAllenDalhousie University
2017Sarah ArianoUniversity of Toronto
2016Behrad GharedaghlooUniversity of Waterloo
2015Md Aminul HaqueUniversity of Manitoba
2014Tara DespaultWestern University
2013Meghan KlineWestern University
2012Ryan ZanattaCarleton University
2011Jason LeachUniversity of British Columbia
2010Laura BrownUniversity of Waterloo
2009Scott KetchesonUniversity of Waterloo
2008Hilary DuganQueen's University

The CGU also has several student awards for which HS members are eligible. See the Awards page for details.

Student Conferences

The Hydrology Section hosts annual student conferences, often jointly with other CGU Sections.

YearMeeting InformationLocationDate
2023EasternWaterloo1 April
2022Eastern (Joint with BGS)Online (Carleton University)
2021Eastern (Joint with BGS)Online (Waterloo)
2020Eastern & Western (All sections)Online (Toronto Scarborough/CGU)
2019EasternToronto Metropolitan (Ryerson)
2017Eastern (joint with SE)Guelph
2015Eastern (Joint with BGS and ESPS)Wilfrid Laurier UniversityFebruary
2014Eastern (Joint with BGS)University of TorontoJanuary
2013Eastern (Joint with BGS)Wilfrid Laurier UniversityFebruary
2012Eastern (Joint with BGS) & WesternMcMaster University/University of SaskatchewanFebruary
2011WesternUniversity of CalgaryJanuary
2010WesternUniversity of AlbertaJanuary
2009Eastern & WesternYork University/University of LethbridgeJanuary

Check out the main CGU Jobs page for more student opportunities.