The CGU began as a society dedicated to the scientific study of the solid earth, and has evolved into one that is concerned with all aspects of the physical study of Earth and the space environment. With the creation of a Hydrology Section (1993), the Union adopted a structure that allows individual Sections to function as semi-autonomous entities. Since then, four additional sections have been created: Geodesy (2002), Solid Earth (2009), and Biogeosciences (2009), with the most recent being Earth Surface Processes (2014).

Now with over 400 members, the CGU serves as a national group for geophysical sciences, with annual meetings and an awards program, and significant student involvement. The CGU also carries on the traditional responsibility of representing Canada in the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics through a Canadian National Committee (CNC/IUGG).

Canadian Societies for the Geophysical Sciences (CSGS)

In 2013, the CGU joined with four other Canadian geophysical societies (Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society (CMOS), Canadian Society of Soil Science (CSSS), Canadian Water Resources Association (CWRA), and the Canadian Society for Agriculture and Forest Meteorology (CSAFM)) to form the Canadian Societies for the Geophysical Sciences (CSGS):

to link, integrate and coordinate the geophysical sciences in Canada;
from the geophysical sciences to government, funding agencies, industry, the public;
the advancement of the geophysical sciences in Canada and abroad.

Organizations we are proud to collaborate with on this venture:

For more on CGU activities and to join us, see the Membership page.