Meritorious Service Award

The CGU Meritorious Service Award recognizes extraordinary and unselfish contributions to the operation and management of the Canadian Geophysical Union by a CGU member.

All members of the CGU are eligible for this award, although it is not normally given to someone who has received another major award (e.g., the J. Tuzo Wilson Medal). The award is made by the CGU Executive based on recommendations from the CGU Awards Committee, and is based on lifetime contributions to CGU activities.

See here for the full terms of reference.

Nominations should be submitted to the Chair of the Awards Committee (email: by December 12 of the year prior to the Annual Scientific Meeting.

“Exceptionally, given the cancellation of the 2021 in-person CGU annual meeting, scholarship application packages and award nomination packages will be accepted until April 5, 2021. Should any changes occur, emails will be sent to registered CGU members.”

Past Recipients of the Meritorious Service Award

2020Phil McCauslandWestern University
2019Not awarded
2018Not awarded
2017Kristy TiampoWestern University
2016Not awarded
2015Not awarded
2014Not awarded
2013Spiros PagiatakisYork University
2012Kathy YoungYork University
2011Masaki HayashiUniversity of Calgary
2010Zoltan HajnalUniversity of Saskatchewan
2009Gary JarvisYork University
2008Patrick WuUniversity of Calgary
2007Ed KrebesUniversity of Calgary
2006J.A. Rod BlaisUniversity of Calgary
2005Ted Glenn—
2004Ron KurtzGeological Survey of Canada