Hydrology: Committees

The CGU-HS has several sub-committees on topics of interest to HS members. These committees work to advance scientific knowledge and application of research in their field, and often arrange special sessions at CGU meetings. For more information, contact the Chair of the committee, or see the committee reports on the Publications page.

Committee on River Ice Processes and the Environment (CRIPE)


  • To identify specific high-priority river ice topics for research and development and promote the undertaking of relevant research programs.
  • To facilitate information dissemination and exchange of ideas on river ice among practitioners, researchers, and resource managers.
  • To encourage the incorporation of pertinent river ice lectures or courses in undergraduate and graduate studies at Canadian Colleges and Universities.
  • Chair: Brian Morse (Université Laval)

    Northern Research Basins Committee

    Objectives: To participate in the International Northern Research Basins (NRB) working group, by sending delegates to annual workshops.
    Chair: Richard Janowicz (Yukon Territorial Government)

    Committee on Isotope Tracers

    Objectives: To promote and advance the understanding and application of isotopic tracer techniques in hydrology and related sciences.
    Chair: Trish Stadnyk (University of Manitoba)

    Hydroecology Committee

    Objective: To promote and advance the understanding of the linkages between hydrology and ecology in wetland, lake, and river systems across Canada.
    Chair: Daniel Peters (Environment Canada, University of Victoria) and Wendy Monk (University of New Brunswick)

    Urban Hydrology Committee

    Objective: To promote and advance understanding of the importance and role of hydrology in urban environments.
    Chair: Claire Oswald (Ryerson University) and Tim Duval (University of Toronto)

    Canadian Young Hydrologic Society

    Objective: To promote the interaction and engagement of young hydrologists within the broader Canadian hydrological community.
    Chair: Chris Marsh (University of Saskatchewan)​

    Committee on Hydro-climatic Impacts and Adaptation​

    Objective: To advance the development of methods and tools for better understanding of the hydrologic and aquatic ecosystem impacts of climate change and developing adaptation measures to mitigate the potential impacts.
    Chair: Rajesh Shrestha, Yonas Dibike and Daniel Peters (Environment and Climate Change Canada)