Stan Paterson Scholarship

Stan Paterson

Stan Paterson (May 20, 1924 – October 8, 2013) was a leading Canadian glaciologist who began his career with the British North Greenland Expedition, then came to Canada to do a PhD in glaciology at the University of British Columbia. He worked for Canada’s Polar Continental Shelf Program (PCSCP) in the Canadian Arctic from 1962 to 1980. He wrote the seminal glaciology text The Physics of Glaciers, now in its fourth edition, and was awarded the International Glaciological Society’s Richardson Medal in 2012 for Outstanding Services to Glaciology.

The Stan Paterson Scholarship in Canadian Glaciology honours Dr. Paterson, and is made possible by an endowment from his estate. The scholarship is valued at $2,500 and the application deadline is December 1st of the year prior to the annual meeting.

Please note that for CGU members interested in being considered for 2022 awards, application and nomination packages will be accepted until December 20, 2021. Any other changes to the typical application or nomination procedures will be communicated by email to registered CGU members.

Eligible students are those studying glaciology with confirmed admission to, or current enrolment in, a research-based graduate degree program (MSc or PhD) at a Canadian university. Glaciology is broadly defined as the scientific study of all aspects of, and processes related to, Earth’s cryosphere. Field research, if applicable, may be undertaken outside of Canada.

For more details on the Stan Paterson Scholarship as well as the application process, please click on the following link:

Stan Paterson Scholarship

Past Scholarship Recipients

2021Jesse Velay-VitowUniversity of Toronto
2020Caroline Aubry-WakeUniversity of Saskatchewan
2018Jeff CromptonSimon Fraser University
2017Anja RutishauserUniversity of Alberta
2016Laura ThomsonUniversity of Ottawa
2015Jill RajewiczCarleton University
2014Chris MarshUniversity of Saskatchewan
2013Ashley DubnickUniversity of Alberta